Tuesday, May 20, 2008

Beating the Heat

We are starting to feel the heat of the summer during the day...mid 80's the last 2 days has kept us from playing at the park. The slides, stairs and swings are all HOT!!! It is amazing how quickly kids learn the meaning of words and I love it when Cody uses new words in the right context! Without time at the park we have been playing in the yard, riding bikes, drawing with chalk, blowing bubbles and eating ice pops.
Cody loves to ride his bike up and down the sidewalk, taking the occasional break to throw a rock back into the yard or look at the trees. He is just too darn cute!

We are anxiously awaiting the arrival of Cody's little sister...Just 7 weeks til the due date. I have almost finished painting in Cody's room for the new John Deere theme. Here are some pics for you to look at.

Wednesday, May 14, 2008

The Countdown Has Really Begun

I was looking at the calendar today, and realized that I have only 8 weeks left until my due date. This is both exciting and a bit overwhelming. I have so much that I want to do in preparation for Alyssa's arrival. I remember this time in my pregnancy with Cody, it is a much different experience this time. With Cody, I had nothing to do once I went on maternity leave from work except prepare for him. I could paint at my leisure, nap everyday, and run as many errands as necessary. This time around, I spend my days at the park or riding bikes with Cody and have to complete my housework and preparations during Cody's nap. I have purchased paint for both Cody's new "big boy" room and Alyssa's nursery. Cody's rug is almost half way done, and I figure if I am diligent I can have it finished in a couple weeks. I have also made some necessary purchases from my favorite website, craigslist, a double stroller in almost mint condition for $80 and a toddler bed for $30! What a great way to save money. As soon as I have something complete I will post pics so you can see the new rooms. I have found someone to watch Cody and Alyssa when I return to work. Her name is Cookie and she lives 2 minutes from my house. She has 2 beautiful daughters, 16mo and 30mo old. She has also turned my on to a mom's group in the area, so I can meet other working moms in the area. We play at the park at least once a week and have had a mom's night out! Pray that I will be able to work out all the details and feel comfortable with this arrangement in the next couple of weeks.